Wednesday, January 04, 2012

Pushcart Prize Nominations

Blood Orange Review is proud to announce our 2011 nominations for the Pushcart Prize:

Brit Blalock, "Epigraph for This Poem"
Jessica Karbowiak, "Second Scraping"
Deanna Larsen, "What Rape Is Like"
Paula Marafino Bernett, “G Is for Grief”
Brittany Perham, "Poem for the Beloved's Lover"
Kelley E. Shinn, "Taking Heart"

Good luck, everyone!

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Notable new book by Paul Lindholdt

If you are interested in environmental literature, H.K. Hummel recently reviewed Paul Lindholdt's new collection of essays, In Earshot of Water: Notes from the Columbia Plateau on her blog, Practice and Craft. In this work, Lindholdt takes on weighty issues like industrial contamination, superfund clean-up sites and hydroelectric dams with piercing insight and wry humor. His style is philosophical and empathetic, reverent and entertaining. Go to Practice and Craft to read a full review.

In Earshot of Water: Notes from the Columbia Plateau by Paul Lindholdt was published by University of Iowa Press in March 2011.

Saturday, July 09, 2011

The summer 2011 issue of Blood Orange Review is here!

We are pleased to announce that the newest online issue of Blood Orange Review is now available.

The newest issue of Blood Orange Review includes new writing by Brit Blalock, Jacqueline Doyle, Leonard Gontarek, Danielle Hanson, Deanna Larsen, and Claudia Serea. The issue showcases Paul McMillan's richly surreal artwork and audio recordings of poetry by Cecelia Hagen and Colette Tennant. This summer issue pops with illuminating moments that startle and humor in turn. Take a look!

Wednesday, April 06, 2011

Blood Orange Review 6.1 is here!

We’re pleased to announce the new issue of Blood Orange Review, featuring poetry by Siobhan Casey, Brittany Perham, Roger Bernard Smith, Jeffrey Taylor with a recorded poem by Jacqueline Lyons. Also in this issue, read fiction by Kelley E. Shinn and Scott R. Tucker. The photography of Sheila Smart creates the visual centerpiece for this new issue.

From the Editor's Notes
by Bryan Fry:

Here we are readers, at our unusual meeting ground, the editor’s notes, which means we editors have completed yet another issue of our journal and have officially entered our sixth year of publication. Welcome!

I would like to celebrate by congratulating our interns who have dedicated a part of their busy lives over the last year to help us sift through hundreds of submissions. We could not be more happy with their professionalism and their enthusiasm for our journal. [Continue]

Tuesday, February 08, 2011

Interns on the Scene

We hope you had a chance to meet our interns at this year’s AWP conference in Washington, DC. If you were unable to attend the conference, feel free to read the intern blogs below, which highlight some of the events.

See you next year in Chicago!

Monday, February 07, 2011

Maddie Reports from AWP (part 2)

Our first night experiencing D.C. ran much later than predicted, and the six of us awoke in a sleep-deprived stupor. After shuffling to grab our badges and winter sweaters we stumbled out into the cold, once again looking for coffee. We returned in much higher spirits, each checking our schedules in order to pick out the readings that looked most intriguing.

I settled finally on an early reading about the necessity for accurate environmental writing, a wonderful piece that discussed how the idea of the “nature writer” has shifted from Thoreau and Burroughs, taking on a more journalistic identity. Each member of the panel (including the editor of Ecotone) discussed the need for responsible environmental writers who were dedicated to the current issues of society, while still respecting to the art that is inherent in good literature. Having a particular love of reading and writing nonfiction, as well as a strong devotion to the natural world, I was extremely impressed by this discussion. It was by far my favorite of the day.

Another memorable part of the day was the book fair. We interns had struck up an unofficial competition to see who could collect the most buttons and bookmarks, and so we took it upon ourselves to scour every last inch of the fair. Getting to see all of the other journals was overwhelming to say the least, but it was also exciting and informative. We lingered a little longer at all of our favorites; River Teeth, Black Warrior, Tin House, and Mod Cloth were among the tables that caught our attention. I was most intrigued by the visual rhetoric and design methods employed by all the other journals, and took extensive notes about which colors and fonts looked best together. By the end, there was a pretty even spread between my three columns of “looks great”, “could work”, and “definitely not”.

All in all, not a bad way to end the day. Tomorrow we are going to tour a bit of D.C. and see more than just the hotel. It will be nice to get away from the constant, high energy pulse of AWP for a few hours, before returning for the final readings.

Sunday, February 06, 2011

Deven Reports from AWP

The AWP conference has been an overwhelming adventure thus far, especially with the line-up of authors. One of the readings I attended on Thursday featured Sandra Cisneros and the Iowa Writer’s Workshop panel. The group read from their upcoming book, “We Wanted to be Writers”, and debated the pros and cons of academic workshops versus independent study. At the end of the reading, I met with Cisneros and had her sign a copy “The House on Mango Street”.

On Friday I attended a reading by Carol Joyce Oats. She spoke of the untimely death of her beloved husband due to pneumonia and read from her latest book, “A Widow’ Memoir”. As a volunteer for hospice, I’ve worked with death, the dying, and the families that they leave behind. Oats’ words were emotional yet simple; beautiful yet comical. She read directly from her book, added anecdotal information, and provided wisdom and advice for those coping with loss. I have read countless pieces about death and loss and this reading was truly heart-felt, and as Oats put it—“a widow’s handbook”. Being the literary geek that I am, I also had Oats sign my copy of “The Coalminer’s Daughter”.

Sarah Reports from AWP

AWP was a complete whirlwind. We danced, laughed, attended panels, and met some amazing writers. On Thursday I checked out a panel about Jewish American Fiction. I won’t lie, the title drew me in: “Beyond Bagels and Lox.” You just can’t get more Jewish than that.

Writers Erika Dreifus, Andrew Furman, Kevin Haworth, Margot Singer, Anna Solomon discussed the challenges, freedoms, and trends in Jewish American fiction. The scene for Jewish writers is rapidly evolving from the earlier literature of assimilation. New books in the genre explore Jewish experiences from before the Holocaust, both in America and beyond it. They challenge mainstream readers to do the work to understand the vast Jewish experience and culture. Kevin Haworth described graffiti in Israel that he says describes the essence of new Jewish fiction in America. Written on a wall were the words, “Am Yisrael Chai” (The People of Israel Are Alive) and below it, a new tag read, “No shit.”